Mourning dashed dreams

I remember telling a friend how I was so excited to have heard Ravi Zacharias speak live. I even mentioned it in my blog. Today, there is much grief caused by his sin, the brunt of which is borne by those who are still here – victims, family, friends, colleagues and those who were impacted by Ravi’s ministry. It’s painful.

I’ve always known intellectually that there’s no point idolising any Christian figure. But it still stings. Yes, we look to Jesus. Yes, we’re all fallen. Yes, the Bible is full of fallen people who God still chose to use. So why should Ravi’s fall come as a shock?

I think for me, it’s not just news of Ravi’s abuse, but also other struggles within self, community and nation, that have added to my disappointment. I’ve been learning to let go of certain dreams because I guess that’s what growing old and cynical up does to you. You suddenly realise the dreams you dreamt as a kid won’t be happening any time soon, so you learn to let go of expectations, trusting that God has bigger things in mind. But at the same time, with each dream that disappears, there is a growing cynicism. If left unchecked, we might even stop hoping for anything at all just to avoid disappointment.

But how can one live without hope?

Somehow this 1994 quote from Charles Colson came to mind:

“Where is the hope? I meet millions of people who feel demoralized by the decay around us. The hope that each of us has is not in who governs us, or what laws we pass, or what great things we do as a nation. Our hope is in the power of God working through the hearts of people. And that’s where our hope is in this country. And that’s where our hope is in life.”

Ultimately, no amount of cleverness or skill will save us. We may have the best brains, but information without transformation smells like trouble. And so it seems that our only hope, really, is in God’s power to transform hearts. Our only hope is… (much cringe but) the good news that Jesus has to offer!

At least that one dream of being reunited with Jesus and how Jesus will eventually make all things right – that dream will not disappoint.

Leave a comment