What do You delight in?

Sometimes I suspect that we so desperately want to know what God has called us to do because we’re afraid of failure.

While it’s true that we’re probably not living up to our full God-given potential if we’re not doing what we were made for, most of the time, I think my motivation to figure out God’s call is to have an easy life – a life where I feel that I absolutely belong and am loved. A place where I’m insanely good at what I do and absolutely nail everything. But that just goes to show how insecure I really am, and my flawed sense of worth.

While I acknowledge how Jesus’ death on the cross puts forth the mystery of our worth and unworthiness co-existing, I still ask what I should be doing. Yes, our worth is not in what we can or cannot do, but what have I been made for? How do I come to a place of accepting myself, but not glorying in self? A place of embracing the person who God has made me, and allowing God to embrace me. A place where I truly feel that I belong, not because I went looking for a sense of belonging, but because it is where I truly delight in God and He in me.

I believe God made me for a purpose, but he also made me fast! And when I run I feel his pleasure.” ― Eric Liddell, Olympic Gold Medalist runner.

Leave a comment